NFF Rejects Stephen Keshi’s 42-Man Eagles List For Malawi Match

Posted on Updated on

The Technical Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation has told the Chief Coach of the Super Eagles, Stephen Keshi to prune down the 42-man list sent to the Committee for the 2014 World Cup qualifying match against Malawi slated for Calabar on September 7, 2014.

The Nigeria Football Federation have told the Super Eagles coach to prune the released list to a manageable number

Paul Bassey who spoke of behalf of the Committee after their emergency meeting in Abuja yesterday (Tuesday) disclosed that they rejected the list because it was too bogus.

“We have looked at Keshi’s list for Malawi match and we have decided that for now some of the home based players should be dropped from the list.

“The list is bogus and we want a harmonized list for the World Cup qualifying match against Malawi on September 7, 2014.

“We have told Keshi that we want the list of 22 players that will prosecute the Malawi Match for now. That’s what we decided at the meeting and we will write him officially to do that,” the NFF Technical Committee member said.

Bassey argued that there is enough time between now and the period of African Nations Championship so Keshi should not call 42 players which is composed of 18 overseas-based and 24 home-based players with the excuse that he also wants to prepare for CHAN that would kick off in January 2014.


Goalkeepers: Chigozie Agbim (Enugu Rangers); Daniel Akpeyi (Heartland FC)

Defenders: Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars); Solomon Kwambe (Sunshine Stars); Umar Zango (Kano Pillars); Benjamin Francis (Heartland FC); Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars); Chibuzor Okonkwo (Enugu Rangers); Yinka Adedeji (Sharks FC); Ganiyu Ogungbe (Kwara United

Midfielders: Sunday Mba (Enugu Rangers); Solomon Jabason (Akwa United); Olufemi Oladapo (Shooting Stars); Etebo Oghene (Warri Wolves); Rabiu Ali (Kano Pillars); Moses Orkuma (Lobi Stars)

Forwards: Muhammad Gambo (Kano Pillars); Ifeanyi Edeh (Enyimba FC); Mbah Ezekiel (Akwa United); Barnabas Imenger (Lobi Stars); Izu Azuka (Sunshine Stars); Dimgba Stanley (Kwara United); Osadaiye Joseph (Warri Wolves)


Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille FC, France); Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Sporting Braga, Portugal); Efe Ambrose Celtic FC, Scotland); James Okwuosa (Chippa United, South Africa)

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea FC, England); Fegor Ogude (Valerenga FC, Norway); John Ogu (Academica de Coimbra, Portugal); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy);Nnamdi Oduamadi (AC Milan, Italy); Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Brown Ideye (Dynamo Kyiv, Ukraine); Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United, England); Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); Obinna Nsofor (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); Uche Nwofor (VVV Venlo, Netherlands)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s